Friday, 6 January 2012

Heavy Metal New Blood Album Review : Desekratewhore - Shadows of the Past

DesekrateWhore - Shadows of the Past
Rating: 4/10

1. As the Angels Burn
2. Fuck Philosophy
3. Illusions in the Mist
4. Rising Flames, Falling Ice
5. Shadows of the Past
6. Souls of the Insane
7. The Cave Part 1 - Prelude to Insanity
8. The Cave Part 2 - Forever Descending Slumber

Having only looked at the cover I was already expecting a pretty raw album and raw is certainly what it kicks in with on the opening "As the Angels Burn". Unfortunately I think the rawness detracts a fair bit from the musicianship, key elements such as the timing of introducing the lead guitar seem quite off in particular on "Fuck Philosophy".

The album is reminiscent of one of a supporting bands first gigs, while not bad, you know there is a lot of work needed to be done yet. Perhaps slightly less focus on speed and more on unity while playing would help extract the good bits from the mess this album sometimes becomes.

"Illusions in the Mist" starts out well albeit a little rough around the edges although the guitar again seems slightly out of time which spoils it slightly.

The rest of the album continues in the same vein, some good parts, some out of time parts and some parts where it seems quality has been sacrificed for speed.

There is potential there and the raw sound isn't necessarily a bad thing all the way through, it does make it sound edgy in parts giving an almost live quality to the album. Overall I think there is a lot of work to be completed before the potential in the band can be fully realised. Having said that maybe it's just not my thing, check it out for yourselves:

You Tube
You Tube

No comments:

Post a Comment